ICT & Computing - Key Stage 5

    Year 12

    Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Computing

    360 GLH Equivalent in size to one A Level.

    4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external.
    Mandatory content (83%). 
    External assessment (58%).

    This qualification is designed to support learners who are interested in learning about the computing sector alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in the computing sector. It is designed to be taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

    Unit 1 - Principles of Computer Science (external)

    Unit 2 - Fundamentals of Computer Systems (external)

    Unit 7 - IT Systems Security and Encryption (internal)

    Unit 15 - Website Development (internal)   


    Year 13

    Edexcel BTEC Level 3 90-credit Diploma in IT 

    Equivalent to (1.5 A levels)


    Subsidiary Diploma

    Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for IT 

    Unit 2: Computer Systems 

    Unit 6: Software Design and Development  

    Unit 28: Website Production

    Unit 30: Digital Graphics

    Unit 31: Computer Animation



    Unit 3: Information Systems

    Unit 8: e-Commerce

    Unit 10: Communication Technologies 

    Unit 18: Database Design

    Unit 29: Installing and Upgrading Software

    Unit 43: Multimedia Design